**Guest Post** LA Review: Sunny Blue, Santa Monica

Dare I use the expression “sister from another mister”?  Even just typing it looks dreadful.  My BFF is not only my kindred spirit, but also (according to others) my twin sister.  This is because, OMG SO UNUSUALLY, we are both pale and thin and tall and wear glasses and have straight, light brown hair.  And we have a similar way of speaking and both have posh accents (though she now lives Los Angeles and has to do unnatural things to her intonation in order to be understood).  So in keeping with our purported genetic similarity, she is known as to me – and I to her – as ‘Twinnie’.  And she has written me a lovely little guest post review of a Japanese riceball & frozen yoghurt cafe in Santa Monica, CA.

NB: Twinnie, I’ve put all the H’s back in ‘yoghurt’ for you, and also the U’s in ‘flavour’, as you appear to have misplaced them ☺

Screen shot 2014-03-10 at 8.14.35 PM

Onigiri manekineko!

I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve walked along Santa Monica’s Main Street and past the tiny little Sunny Blue storefront: a hole-in-the-wall famous for its omusubi/ a.k.a. onigiri/ a.k.a. riceballs, and frozen yoghurt.  Even though I’m a lover of delicious Japanese-themed snacks, I always seem to be passing by earlier or later than opening hours (not that the opening hours are unreasonable – I’m just poorly timed).

One fateful sunshine-filled Saturday I decided enough was enough: epic weekend crowds notwithstanding, it was time to get me some omusubi.

Screen shot 2014-03-10 at 8.13.24 PM

Oishisou!!!!

After being greeted by the smiley staff, the first thing you’ll notice is still-warm rice being deftly pressed into a seaweed wrappers, then stuffed with a range of fishy, vegetabley or meaty fillings, and accented with sauces, pickles or herbs.  In the interest of presenting a comprehensive review, we complemented our omusubi order (miso mushroom) with the udon soup of the day (mushroom) and a black sesame frozen yoghurt (giant).

IMG_20140222_160509

Miso Mushroom Omusubi: king oyster mushrooms and enoki mushrooms sautéed with homemade miso sauce.

IMG_20140222_160818

Riceball – attack!

IMG_20140222_160457

Udon + flip flops

Everything that passed our lips was delicious.  Flavours well-balanced, ingredients all fresh and freshly prepared, and rice pleasantly toothsome with separate grains (no gumminess nor opaque, undercooked centres here).

The frozen yoghurt can, if you like, be accented with a ‘choose your own adventure’ selection of toppings, ranging from Cap’n Crunch cereal and Oreos to sweetened condensed milk and mochi.  No photos of my choice exist… I’m unembarrassed to say that I ate most of the yoghurt before thinking to take a picture.  (For the record, I added cereal, mini choc chips and sliced strawberries.)

Screen shot 2014-03-10 at 8.14.00 PM

yogurt (sic)

Overall, Sunny Blue is a most excellent place to stop on your way to or from the beach, the Green Market up the road, or just because you need some delicious rice snacks in your life, STAT.

Sunny Blue on Urbanspoon

One thought on “**Guest Post** LA Review: Sunny Blue, Santa Monica

Leave a Reply

